Amy Adams to receive SFFILM Awards!

Amy will be honored at the San Francisco Film Society’s Annual Awards with the ‘Peter J. Owens Award’ on December 3!

Awards Watch

Annual Fundraiser Benefits SFFILM’s Youth Education Programs and Marks the High Point of Awards Season in the San Francisco Bay Area

SFFILM has announced several individuals scheduled to attend and accept honors at the 2018 SFFILM Awards Night (formerly Film Society Awards Night), its annual fundraising celebration honoring achievement in filmmaking craft. This year’s edition of the dinner and awards presentation event—leveraging its new position in the fall after a wildly successful move in 2017—takes place Monday, December 3rd at San Francisco’s Palace of Fine Arts Exhibition Center.

Taking cues from similar awards season events in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, SFFILM Executive Director Noah Cowan says “More awards isn’t good enough anymore. What people want and need is a unique voice that can actually speak to the qualities of individual contenders.”

Amy Adams will receive the Peter J. Owens Award for Acting, for her performance as Lynne Cheney in Adam McKay’s Vice, opening on Christmas Day from Annapurna Pictures. The Peter J. Owens Award, named after the late local cultural benefactor and longtime SFFILM board member, honors an actor whose work exemplifies brilliance, independence and integrity. Past recipients include Kate Winslet (2017), Ellen Burstyn (2016), Richard Gere (2015), Jeremy Irons (2014), Harrison Ford (2013), Judy Davis (2012), Terence Stamp (2011), Robert Duvall (2010), Robert Redford (2009), Maria Bello (2008), and Robin Williams (2007).